Harmy is having fun not sleeping.

Instead, she’s doing math problems.

^That reminds me of a pro-Wilson campaign ad targeted toward the workers. It went something like…

“You are working!
–not fighting.
You are healthy!
–not cannon fodder”

or something like that.


So about those math problems. Basically, in advisory, I set myself the goal of an A+ in Chem (because dammit, it’s definitely possible) and “brilliance.” Arrogant, I know, but I didn’t know how to put it. Basically, I want mental creativity. Less brute force, more insight. Less shovel, more teaspoon. [Haha, I just killed Ms. Amento’s thing about rational equations.] So I’m doing math problems.

It goes like this.

*rummage rummage scribble*
—Alas! The square of the square root of three over two, quantity, times pi over … equals.. Six! [Who doesn’t love unus minus septem?]

*looks at solution*

OMG I’m right!

Solution: It’s six. because if you had just taken the original equation, moved this to the other side, and plugged it into the other equation you should have found, and then baked it at 350 for ten to fifteen minutes, then it would’ve dropped the answer on your head. But you went on and on and on using little triangle ratios! Sqrt 3: 1: 2 is for loooseerrrrssssssss

Me: *scratch..*

*blink*


But at least I got some nice character-building experiences and learned two cool things: Egyptian fractions and Pick’s theorem.

Egyptian fractions: Stuff like..2/3 or 3/5 doesn’t exist. Everything is 1/2 + 1/6 or 1/2+ 1/10. Apparently, that was easier to divide grain and compare values without using zeroes or decimal points.

Pick’s Theorem: The site that explains it makes my browser crash. I still don’t know what it is, but I know it has to do with geoboards, and I want one. I hate how during elementary school, when we wove potholders and flung rubberbands with them, I had no clue that there was a theorem regarding it, and now, when I know the name of a theorem regarding geoboards, the stupid site makes my browser crash, and I have no access to a geoboard!

[gotta work on shortening those sentences.]

[[and sleep]]

[greatest integer function!]

[needs to stop smoking the Dante]

3 thoughts on “Harmy is having fun not sleeping.

  1. your posts are hilarious. i love how they are really nerdy because i always feel like when i’m about to write a really nerdy post no one will want to read it so i just don’t. or i private them.
    [but now i will not private them]
    [i HATE greatest interger functions. boo.]

Leave a Reply

