My AoPS came!!!11!!!!eleventythreeinbinary!!

(AoPS = rockin’ math textbooks.)

So I open the first book, the ones for 7th to 10th graders (I got it because I’m incompetent, or rather, less competent than I’d like to be).

One problem read:

Show that in an acute triangle with sides a, b, and c, a^2 + b^2 > c^2.

So I ponder for several seconds and finally come upon law of cosines, think about how c^2 = a^2 + b^2 – 2abcosC, and if C 0, etc, proving the thing true.

..yeah.

I was supposed to have done it with areas, i.e. stuff 4th graders can do, rather than stuff I learned last year.

But they’re here!! I wuv you, media mail, for sending me 4 books across the country in 3 days for 5.95 USD!!!!


In other news, my schedule got mangled by the mysterious workings of Guidance Dept. software, but in a somewhat fortunate way. I get to take AP Music Theory!! (but not compsci because the mysterious software couldn’t find the course; also, Modern Poetry has been replaced with ..shakespeare. Boo.)

The advantage is that it’s a wonderful way to spend the longest period of the day (5th) AND fulfill blasted graduation requirements; the disadvantage is that it’s actually a bit of work, and doesn’t fully qualify me as a member of the music program, meaning that I’ll have to arrange some sort of strings lab (again).

One thought on “

  1. but… you’re taking AP music theory?..? blargh, our school doesn’t offer it as a class – if it did i’d take it in an instant! also, modern poetry sounded cool, too bad it was replaced with shakespeare.
    scheduling can be a mysterious thing!

Leave a Reply

