I’ve been trying violas lately.

First one, from Audubon Strings (overpriced, I hear):

It’s louder, fits in my case, and reddish. Don’t think I can reach very far up the fingerboard on it.

Second one, from Shar via Jill:

It’s significantly louder than the first one, not very dark, fits in my case, and brownish. I definitely can reach rather far up it.

Third one, from some student via Jill:

It’s smaller, ergo not as loud but rather darker, and has a funny chinrest which I realized to be pretty comfortable once I’d figured out where my chin was supposed to go. I don’t think I’d want something that small (i.e. same size as my current one, 15 inches) when I am physically able to go bigger.


..and making orchestra recordings.

Is it possible to detect traces of recording-software in recordings? Like really fast passages that you can’t quite play clearly, so you record it at a reasonable speed and then use the “Change Tempo” function, and it returns to you, ridiculously clear AND fast?